Springtime in The Garden Spot of The Universe….

Barn Tulips!

Barn Tulips!

The garden at Groundhog Hill is plowed and ready for tilling and then planting. Big Shout-Out to brother-in-law John Varney for the expert tractor-work! Thanks, Johnny!

Glad I haven’t planted anything yet as today’s Frost and yesterday’s late Season dusting of Snow would have made me regretted it! This Grasshopper has learned much, though. So, I have waited and will continue to wait until the last Frost has Passed Over (timely Pun intended!).

Fingers crossed for the health and well-being of the Peach Trees at Hinton’s Orchard. Hope you have weathered the Weather, Jeremy.

Elsewhere in The Garden Spot of The Universe, I am happy to report that Spring Peas, Spinach and Kale planted at Dad’s house are thriving despite the troublesome conditions of late. And, of course, Tulips are now blooming in abundance…can you hear the explosion of Color? 🙂

And, in exciting news, I have successfully grown Heirloom Tomato Plants from seed for the first time (using Ball Canning Jars and potting soil and Winter sun). These seeds were a gift from sister-in-law Laura, to whom I will be gifting a healthy plant (or three!) around Mothers Day.

Mason Jars are great vessels for starting plants.

Mason Jars are great vessels for starting plants.

Finally for today, I have had a Brain Wave. (I get these sometimes!). How about a Garden Supper from Groundhog Hill Sweepstakes for Summer 2014? Perhaps, six lucky Readers get treated to a delicious home-cooked meal highlighting the freshly picked Veggies from GH. I will have to come up with a location for such an event…If only I knew a local restaurateur! Hmmmm……

Paula La Rue Varney coloring Easter Eggs.

Paula La Rue Varney coloring Easter Eggs.

More later from Groundhog Hill…Happy Spring!

About Surfing Hollywood

Steve La Rue is an internationally recognized leader in Film & Television with 20+ years experience as a Development Executive championing such series as Buffy The Vampire Slayer, The X-Files, The Simpsons, King of the Hill, Battlestar Galactica, and Farscape. He writes, blogs, and consults on All Things Entertainment from his home at the beach in Santa Monica, CA, where he balances his life by surfing every damn day.
This entry was posted in Weekly Photo Update and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Springtime in The Garden Spot of The Universe….

  1. Jana Sturm says:

    Sign me up for the Garden Supper Sweepstakes! I assume the centerpiece will be zinnias! Planted basil and flat leaf parsley this weekend–in containers which were brought inside Monday and Tuesday due to the SNOW! Happy Plantings—after Derby Day!

  2. Mary Ann Crain says:

    Sign me up too. I’m still a little nervous about the weather. I’ve decided not to plant flowers until after Derby Day. Come on summer and home grown veggies. I hear that local restaurateur is and excellent cook!! MC

Leave a comment